Memberships & Alliances

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

NAPHRO - National Alliance of Provincial Health Research Organizations

In an effort to promote dialogue, work collaboratively on common issues and increase their strategic alignment; the provincial health research funding agencies formed the National Alliance of Provincial Health Research Organizations (NAPHRO) in the fall of 2002. NAPHRO members meet regularly by teleconference or face to face meetings, to share information and discuss potential funding opportunities, problems and barriers regarding health research funding. 

NAPHRO Executive Director: Renata Osika 

Co-Chairs: Tim Murphy, Vice President, Health of Alberta Innovates ( ) and Dr. Bev Holmes, President & CEO for the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research ( )

View NAPHRO members

To view NAPHRO's Vision, Mandate, Strategic Directions and to request to present at the Executives biannual meeting, visit

You can contact NAPHRO at: or you can contact individual agencies through the members' page above and go to their website. 

Forum of Health Research Funders 

The Forum of Health Research Funders was created and held its inaugural meeting at CIHR in October 2006.  Secretariat support is provided by Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR). 
This initiative is comprised of major research funders across Canada, including Health Charities and the National Alliance of Provincial Health Research Organizations (NAPHRO). 
The members meet at least twice a year and when needed creates working groups for specific initiatives/ tasks between meetings.  The group meets to discuss opportunities for collaboration, discuss common concerns, and share information on up to date best practice for Health Research. 
The co-chairs is shared by members of the National Alliance of Provincial Health Research Organization and the Health Charities Coalition of Canada (for a two year term).
The current co-chairs are: Dr. Serge Marchand Scientific Director of the Fonds de recherche Santé Québec ( ) and Janet Yale President & CEO of The Arthritis Society (of Canada) ( ).